50 books I have loved

Recently I participated in an email swap that required me to send a list of 50 books I thought one should read before they die.  Picking 50 great books was very much a challenge. My list turned out to be more of a list of books that I have enjoyed or have made a difference in my life. A few challenged my thinking, some made me cry, some were just silly fun and others are just plain wonderful. I know that even in a month this list would change as I continue to read good books. Since I read mostly from the children/teen collections many of my choices are in that age range. There is even a graphic novel and a picture book in the mix. I am still waiting to see what my exchange partners think, but I am hopeful that they will find one on the list to agree with me on. Here is what I chose (they are in random order):

1. Lord of the rings- by JRR Tolkien

2. The Hobbit- by JRR Tolkien

3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s stone- JK Rowling (This is the first book and the best in my opinion)
4. Little Women- by Louisa May Alcott
5. Persuasion- by Jane Austen
6. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn- Mark Twain
7. The Diary of a young girl- Anne Frank
8. The Book Thief- by Markus Zusack
9. Anne of Green Gables – by LM Montgomery
10. The Odyssey- by Homer
11. Call of the Wild- by Jack London
12. A Christmas Carol –  by Charles Dickenson
13. Treasure Island- by Robert Lewis Stevenson
14. To Kill a Mockingbird- by Harper Lee
15. Hunger Games- by Suzanne Collins
16. The Guernsey  Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society- by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
17. The Help- by  Katheryn Stockett
18. Night- by Elie Wiesel
19. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes-by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
20. Princess Academy- by Shannon Hale
21. Old Yeller-  by Fred Gipson
22. Rangers Apprentice- by John Flanagan
23. Song of the Sparrow- by Lisa Ann Sandell
24. Tuesdays with Morrie- Mitch Alblom
25. The Fault in our stars- by John Green
26. Where the Red Fern Grows- by Wilson Rawls
27. Marley and Me- by John Grogan
28. The Joy Luck club- by Amy Tan
29. Flowers of Algernon- by Daniel Keys
30. Where the mountain meets the moon- by Grace Lin
31. One Thousand and one nights (Arabian Nights) – by Richard Burton (Translator), A.S. Byatt (Introduction)
32. The invention of Hugo Cabret (mostly for the unique way the story is told)- by  Brian Selznick
33. The Stuff of Legend, Book 1: The Dark- by  Mike Raicht, Brian Smith, Charles Paul Wilson III (Graphic Novel- The illustrations are wonderful)
34. Ella Enchanted- by Gail Carson Levine
35. Witch Child – by Celia Rees
36. Code Name Verity- by Elizabeth Wein
37. If I stay- by Gayle Forman
38. Scarlet- by AC Gaugen
39. The tenth gift- by Jane Johnson
40. The last song- by Eva Wiseman
41. Bridge to Terabithia- by Katerine Paterson
42. Little House on the Prairie- by Laura Ingles Wilder
43. The Chronicles of Narnia- by CS Lewis
44. Mark of the lion – by Francine Rivers
45. The Fantastic Flying books of Mr. Morris Lessmore – by William Joyce
46. A little princess- by Francis Hodgson Burnett
47. Secret garden- by Francis Hodgson Burnett
48. Charlotte’s web- by EB White
49. Are you there God? It’s me, Margaret- by Judy Blume
50. Moon over Manifest- by Clare Vanderpool
Any you agree or disagree on? What would your list look like?
~VEB
Leave a Reply

