A recipe for a great year!

My librarian and I are avid foodies. We are always sharing good recipes and new places to eat at work. This year we decided to have a theme in the library for “Meet the teacher” night. We were blessed to receive a large donation of funds from our PTA’s book fair last year. It allowed us to add e-books, DVD’s, books, and books on CD to our collection. Our PTA is amazing!

Our theme  is – “A recipe for a great year starts in the library”.

I had only a week to put together a fun display for the cases outside the library. If I had more time I would have added a background to my design to make everything stand out. However, the beginning of the year is always full of meetings so this is what I came up with.

First, I made a Menu board from an idea on Pinterest. I love the look of hand lettering.  It is starting to make a comeback at coffee shops and pretty much everywhere else. I got a piece of black poster board and some Poster Crayons from Crayola to do my book menu. The crayons gave it a pretty good chalk like feel. I clearly need practice on my lettering but the kids won’t care! I apologize for the lighting. That glass is super reflective and right across from our front doors.

IMG_2804

Next, I made my chef and painted him with acrylics. Then I printed a ton of food graphics and made some giant recipe cards. I learned at the MLA conference last year that red, black, and yellow are great attention grabbers. We have these monster glass shelves that require two people to move. I am forever in fear of shattering one of those things! This time I turned it into a dining table. I stole some dishes from my cupboard and added lots of books for the “food”.

IMG_2805

The chef serving up some good books!

IMG_2802

The left side with the table.

IMG_2803

The right side with the chef and books. I tried to pick a good variety.

IMG_2806

Books are good brain food!

There are a few things I would do different with the recipe cards but for the most part I think it looks great. The kids enjoy it and are asking when they can check out the books in the case! Here is the whole thing..

IMG_2808

What do you think?? Anything I can change for next time?

Cheers!

~VEB

Leave a Reply

