Product review- Crayola Window Markers and Poster Crayons

Today I wanted to review two products from Crayola. I am always looking for new art supplies to help me create library displays and artwork. Crayola for the most part has some great items that are not super expensive.

Crayola Poster Crayons-

These little dudes come in an 8 pack of red, green, blue, yellow, white, purple, orange and brown. The crayons are more of a muted shade like chalk, rather than the traditional bright colors. They are also fatter than regular crayons. I got these to make a book menu board for a foodie display. I didn’t want chalk for the smear factor and these actually worked really well. I used them on black poster board and they really gave that menu chalkboard look that I was going for. They were also only $2.99 at Wal-Mart. This is what my poster board looked like. (sorry for the terrible photo- The glass has a ton of glare)

IMG_2804

I would give them 4 out of 5 stars. The biggest downfall was that the tips did not last long. If you are going for a more detailed look you will have to find a sharpener for these crayons.

Crayola Window Markers- 

I really love using markers on windows and we have lots of glass where I work. Most window markers are either super expensive or you can only buy one at a time. These were around $2.99 to $3.99 for an 8 pack. I tried them on the windows to our library which are inside the building. They go on really smooth but really light. The box shows a vibrant application (yay marketing) and good coverage. Well, they are okay. The only colors that really showed up were blue, green, orange and red. The white, yellow, grey and brown were hard to see. When I tried to add more layers of color the first layer would come off. I wish I could show a picture but they did not show up well on my camera. I can see these being really fun for kids at home. They just did not live up to my expectations. The kids kinda noticed them but they had to come up to the window to see my drawings. FYI- They are also bit difficult to get off. They wipe off fine with a wet towel but they also leave this weird residue behind. Our custodian was a bit annoyed when he was cleaning my windows and had to use the super heavy duty cleaner to get it all off.

Great for kids, not for window displays- 3 out of 5 stars.

VEB

One thought on “Product review- Crayola Window Markers and Poster Crayons

  1. Pingback: Crayola Marker Refill Pack | Mel's Christmas Toy Store

Leave a Reply

