DIY-Easy Ribbon Bookmarks

IMG_2680

Since everyone is under an Arctic Freeze this week I thought an easy DIY post was in order. Ribbon bookmarks are pretty and fun to make. They only require a few items to put together and are a great way to use ribbon scraps. There are several ways to make them. It depends on the ribbon that you choose. The fancy ribbon in the picture has a loosely woven back that would snag on the pages. Because of this I doubled it up and glued it together. Grosgrain ribbon will not require this. I only doubled it up to make it a bit stronger. Instead of glue you could also sew the sides together. Today I will show you how to make them using glue.

Here is what you need:

IMG_2675

 

 

IMG_2676

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 1– Glue the ribbon together. The fabric glue says it takes 2 hours to dry fully. You can still complete the other steps while it dries.

IMG_2677

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2– Add the ribbon clamp to the cut ends of the ribbon. If you are adding charms you will need a clamp with a loop at the end. You can also add a plain clamp to the other end.

IMG_2678

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3– Use jump rings and pliers to attach charms to the end of the bookmark. I also added some beads that matched the ribbon. After this is done let your ribbon dry and then enjoy! I put my ribbon under a stack of books to make sure it dried flat. Next time I will sew the ribbon together.

IMG_2679

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I thought my King Arthur bookmark worked well with Jane Yolen’s book. I made another bookmark using blue ribbon, a fairy charm, and a mini Peter Pan book.

IMG_2684

 

There you go! Three easy steps and only a few supplies gives you a beautiful bookmark. I hope you enjoyed this tutorial. Let me know if you have any questions!

Happy reading and stay warm!

Leave a Reply

