Another Day- by David Levithan

Another Day (Every Day, #2)Another Day by David Levithan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Note: I naively went into this book thinking that it was a sequel and not a companion. Thankfully, the author includes a note to readers that discusses why he went with a companion title and not a sequel (which is still in the works).

I will be honest. This book took a few days to sink in. At first I couldn’t decide whether I hated it or really liked it. I honestly did not want Rhiannon’s point of view. I liked how things were wrapped up in the first book and how she had her happy ending. However, since I am the teen librarian I wanted to see if it would be a good one for my readers.

The author states that you can read these two books in any order. I kinda disagree. I feel that personally, if I had read “Another Day” first I might not have picked up the first. The reason? For me “Another Day” makes A and his situation seem a bit creepy. Why does this person switch from body to body? Why is he hung up on this one girl who already is in a horrible relationship and has trust issues? There just wasn’t enough about A to make me sympathetic to his plight. However, I do think that some teens who read it first will dive right into “Every Day” because they are dying to know who and what A really is. There will be some that might not. Because of this, I am actually thinking about doing a reading club for these two books with teens at our local high school. I want to know what they really think and if the order matters. (Cue Teen Librarian focus group!)

Negatives aside, I ended up liking this book more than I expected. Rhiannon is a complex character that really deserved to have her story told. I found out why she is staying with her seemingly loser boyfriend. I also found out why he behaves the way that he does. (still doesn’t excuse it but it did make me hate him a little bit less) While her perspective doesn’t necessarily add anything major to the first book it also doesn’t detract from it.

If you are on the fence about this title I suggest that you just dive in and give it a chance. It’s not groundbreaking material and it’s more of a contemporary relationship story than a mystery. However, it is worth reading and adding to your library’s collection. Finally, I do think that both books would make for interesting character studies on perspective and I plan to book talk it to my YA readers this fall.

View all my reviews

Publish date: August 25, 2015

*Thank you NetGalley and Random House for the Galley copy to review.

 

Leave a Reply

