The Improbable theory of Ana and Zak- By Brian Katcher

The Improbable Theory of Ana and ZakThe Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Told from a duel POV this book is full of geeky feels, crazy adventures, and a sprinkling of romance. Ana’s only goal in life is to be as perfect as possible so her uber control freak parents won’t kick her out of the house. As a member of the Quiz bowl team she wants nothing more than to just win, move on, and graduate from high school while keeping her brilliant little brother out of trouble. Zak is the opposite. The only thing in life he cares about is making it to Washingcon. When his dreams are dashed due to poor choices on his part, Zak is forced to join the Quiz Bowl team or fail Health class.

Then Ana’s little brother makes a break for the con, ditching the quiz bowl team and leaving her in a panic. Ana must partner with Zak and face down angry Vikings, Zombie hoards, and lots and lots of geek cliches to rescue her brother from a decision that could change their lives forever.

What I liked:

I enjoyed that the tale is written from both Zak and Ana’s perspective. I really connected to both of them and it made the story so much better than I expected. It is full of humor and the romance is pretty believable. I was totally rooting for them to get together by the end. The adventures at the convention were hilarious and I could totally relate to some of the side characters from visiting local cons myself.

The book ends on a sweet note that you should discover for yourself!

What I didn’t like:

SPOILERS:
The reason this book only get 3.5 stars from is because things got way out of hand towards the end of the book. The whole drug deal scenario was completely unbelievable. It added nothing to the plot. That whole part could have been left out and the story still would have been great. It is a big plot hole. The drug dealer tells them he will hunt them down if they say anything and then gives their phones back. So will he be watching them forever and keeping tabs on them? Ugh… it made me cringe.

Final thoughts:

Other than the drug deal thing the book is great. It’s funny, sweet, full of geeky references, has a clean romance that is not triangle shaped, and has a lot of heart. It’s one that I have put on my Geeky Reads booklist and have recommended to my teens at the library.

View all my reviews

One thought on “The Improbable theory of Ana and Zak- By Brian Katcher

  1. I agree, the drug deal thing was totally unbelievable, but it was funny at least. I loved the slow romance and how the night changed both characters for the better. I’d love to see a take two though. The further adventures or something.

    Like

Leave a Reply

